Book Review – “Go the F***k to Sleep” By Adam Mansbach

Standard

” The windows are dark in the town, child.  The whales huddle down in the deep.  I’ll read you one very last book if you swear, you’ll go the f***k to sleep.”  This is a wildly subversive tale of one parent’s desperate wish to have their child sleep.  I first heard of this book while I was going on Twitter and I kept seeing all these tweets about a new book called “Go the F***k to Sleep.”

I checked out the reviews and many were parents saying how amazing it was and that it truly spoke to the plights of many parents.  My daughter was a great sleeper, but that is not to say that there wasn’t times when she kept me awake for hours, and hours, and hours on end, but I do have many friends that are still, years later, fighting with their children to go to sleep.  The next day at work, I went to the local bookstore and right at the front, there it was.  I read it on my way to the cash, and I was barely able to stifle my laugh.  Upon purchase, the cashier, made me lay one hand on the book, with the other in the air, and had me literally repeat the following;  “I solemnly swear, to never, ever, read this to children.”

This book is definitely not for children but it is for every single parent that has ever been sleep deprived, fought 9 rounds with a child that just won’t go to bed and has themselves thought “Go the F***k to Sleep!”  This book will have you laughing hysterically.  I could barely get out of the store without laughing.  I have suggested it to all my friends, ones that have kids and others who are expecting.  If you are looking for an extra great laugh, check out Samuel L. Jackson’s reading of it on Youtube.

"Go The F***k to Sleep" By Adam Mansbach & Illustrated by Ricardo Cortes of Akashic Books

2 responses »

  1. LOL…..Chris and I howled for hours when we first saw this book. It’s shameful, but just so true. there comes a time when you have more than 1 popping up out of bed when you would literally do anything (Vitiman “G” – yep, done it.) to get them to go to F#ck to sleep!

Leave a Reply

