The Mommy Pledge!

Standard

My cousin recently brought to my attention a site called The Mommy Pledge.  I think it is simply brilliant!  Please see the pledges below;

The Mom Pledge

I am a proud to be a mom. I will conduct myself with integrity in all my online activities. I can lead by example.

I pledge to treat my fellow moms with respect. I will acknowledge that there is no one, “right” way to be a good Mom. Each woman makes the choices best for her family.

I believe a healthy dialogue on important issues is a good thing. I will welcome differing opinions when offered in a respectful, non-judgmental manner. And will treat those who do so in kind.

I stand up against cyber bullying. My online space reflects who I am and what I believe in. I will not tolerate comments that are defamatory, hateful or threatening.

I refuse to give those who attack a platform. I will remove their remarks with no mention or response. I can take control.

I want to see moms work together to build one another up, not tear each other down. Words can be used as weapons. I will not engage in that behavior.

I affirm that we are a community. As a member, I will strive to foster goodwill among moms. Together, we can make a difference.

 

I whole heartedly love this.  I have seen first hand how mother’s viciously attack each other, not with violence, but with words, actions, and behaviour.  We criticize the clothes they wear, the clothes they put on their children, what they eat and what their children eat, how they interact with their children, even down to what they name their kids.  Are we not all mothers?  Are we all not doing the exact same job? Ensuring that our children are healthy and happy?  Let’s come together and be a part of the solution, not a part of the problem!

One response »

  1. Elizabeth is a genuis for coming up with this idea! hopefully you will find more of the support from the Pledge community, and not find any cyber-bulling in your blog adventures.

Leave a Reply

