Dr. Seuss’ The Lorax

Standard

Dr. Seuss' The LoraxYesterday, we took our daughter saw her first movie on the “Big Screen”  Ever since we saw the previews for Dr. Seuss’ The Lorax, we had really wanted to take her to see it and since she loves Dr. Seuss, we thought this would be the best movie to take her to.  We had been talking all week, imagining how her face would light up when she saw the theatre and then be bouncing off the wall once she first saw the arcade.  I was more anticipating the exression of awe when she saw how big the screen was.  We told her 2 days prior that we were going to the movie theatre and she was going to see a movie on a screen bigger than our entire home.  We explained that a lot of people sat in a big dark room on chairs and ate popcorn and snacks and watched movies together.  She begin to giggle and jump around everytime we mentioned it.  When we arrived, her reaction was a little less than anticipated, but nonetheless adorable.  She was so excited to hold her own snacks, pick out seats and repeatedly jumped out of her seat and looked at me and said, “Look how big the movie is Mom!”

Now while I’ve never read the book, and have been informed by many that the book is better, I have to say I really quite enjoyed what I saw.  The Lorax is definitely a movie for the entire family with jokes for adults and children alike.  The movie put forth a lot of great values such as sticking up for what you believe in, family, friends and taking care of the environment that are great for children to learn, but it also had some subtle undertones that adults could understand such as greed, capitalism, economy, and the pressure to succeed.  These undertones for adults kept me glued to the screen unlike some children’s movies that leave me reaching for the Tylenol.   Danny DeVito and Ed Helms do a great job as the Lorax and the Once-Ler and Betty White is a comedic genius as always.

Going to see the Lorax with my daughter and husband, was more than simply going to see a movie.  I got to spend a lovely day on the weekend with my family.  I got to experience first hand what is what like to go to the movies for the first time as a child.  While I don’t remember my first movie theatre experience, and my daughter is unlikely to remember hers, I got to witness her excitement, anticipation, apprehension and pure joy and innocence.  I was fortunate to see that day for what it remarkably was; a day I will never forget.

Leave a Reply

