Princess and the Beanstalk

Standard

     “Fee-fi-fo-fum!  I smell the blood of an Englishman.  Be he live, or be he dead, I’ll grind his bones to make my bread.”

By Benjamin Tabart

Jack may have bought magic beans in exchange of the family cow, but my princess and I planted  our beans today. Hubby had to work today so it was just going to be girl’s day. I was trying to think of something fun to do and I remembered how much she loved working in my parent’s garden. Then I remembered growing beans in grade school for a science project, and then it hit me, why not combine fun and learning.

My Princess' Magic Beans

My Princess' Magic Beans

I went to the local superstore and purchased a clay pot, a pack of beans and some indoor/outdoor planter soil. I spent no more than $10.  I knew that simply planting the beans with no instant sprout wouldn’t impress her much so I purposely purchased the clay pot with painting in mind.

Painting Time

I set out her paints and brushes and dressed her in her paint smock.  Without fail, paint ended up everywhere but on the paint smock and a bath quickly followed.  How she got paint under her armpits I’ll never know.

Planting the Magic Beans

After her bath and nap, the clay pot was dry and it was now time to plant.  Using a big spoon and our fingers to poke the holes for the beans, they were planted.  As with the paint, soil was everywhere, and she graciously states; “You clean it up Mom.”

I am hoping that this inexpensive and fun weekend craft will teach my daughter about responsibility (watering) and how plants grow.  What I am looking forward to; her eating the beans once they grow,  I’ll get her to eat her veggies yet!

One response »

Leave a Reply

