National Honesty Day

Standard

Today is National Honesty Day.  Now that I am a parent, I am realizing now why my parents drilled into my head the importance of telling the truth.  I lied as a kid.  All the time.  I hated getting in trouble, especially from my dad.  Now that I’m older, I know his bark was worse than his bite, but it was a frightening bark when I was younger.  But now that I catch my daughter telling fibs, I know my parents frustrations.  So here is to telling the truth and all the benefits it brings.

 

It is hard to believe that a man is telling the truth when you know that you would lie if you were in his place.  ~Henry Louis Mencken, A Little Book in C Major, 1916

If you tell the truth you don’t have to remember anything.  ~Mark Twain

Who lies for you will lie against you.  ~Bosnian Proverb

No man has a good enough memory to make a successful liar.  ~Abraham Lincoln

Make yourself an honest man, and then you may be sure there is one less rascal in the world.  ~Thomas Carlyle

A half truth is a whole lie.  ~Yiddish Proverb

A lie will easily get you out of a scrape, and yet, strangely and beautifully, rapture possesses you when you have taken the scrape and left out the lie.  ~Charles Edward Montague, Disenchantment

Those who think it is permissible to tell white lies soon grow color-blind.  ~Austin O’Malley

A truth that’s told with bad intent beats all the lies you can invent.  ~William Blake, “Auguries of Innocence,” Poems from the Pickering Manuscript

Leave a Reply

