Top 5 Reasons Why It’s Great to be a Mom!

Standard

I love being a Mom.  I take pride in being a good parent and watching my daughter grow into the person she is becoming. It’s one of my greatest achievements.  I live it, breathe it, being a mom is as closely tied to my personal identity as being a grown, adult independent woman.  I could talk all day and night about the things my daughter does, says, thinks and acts.  When I say she is my life, I am far from exaggerating.  So I have compiled a list of my Top 5 Reasons Why It’s Great to be a Mom!

  1. Creating life beyond my own.  I remember clearly the day my daughter was born.  Despite the haze and sedation of the anaesthesia, when I looked at her for the first time and saw her looking back at me, it was the single most awe-struck moment of my life.  I counted her 10 little fingers, her 10 little toes, and could only mutter “Isn’t she the most beautiful baby you have ever seen?”  I didn’t cry when I first saw her, I was speechless and in love.
  2. Being called “Mom.”  Whenever I hear my daughter call me Mom, it’s like the password to my heart.  My arms open immediately, a smile spreads across my face and I drop to her level so I can envelop her with my embrace.  I prefer “Mom” to “wife” or “Miss, Ms and Mrs.”
  3. Getting to do all the fun kid stuff again.  Now that my daughter is older, I am truly enjoying doing all the so-called kid stuff again.  I love watching cartoons, running in the park just roll down the hill, going to splash parks and petting zoos.  It’s like reliving your youth all over again.  I especially love doing crafts.
  4. Reading bedtime storiesI am an avid reader and if there is one thing that I hope she carries on throughout her life,  its reading.  My daughter is building her collection of books and stories that she thoroughly enjoys and I love watching her face light up when I do the funny voices and her reaction to them.  I try to imagine what ran through my head when my parents read to me and what must be going on inside hers.
  5. I have the World’s Best Daughter!  No explanation needed.
Leave a Reply

