5 ways to keep children occupied while mobile

Standard

While I do not drive due to epilepsy and having my licensed taken away, I do take buses or trains to visit family. So I know all about the constant “Are we there yet?” and “How much longer?”. These questions can be relentless and wear on the listener, so I have compiled a list of my favourite ways to keep the Princess occupied on our long trips.
1) Portable DVD Player. This has to be one of the best investments Hubby and I made. We simply charge it before we leave and select one or two movies for her to watch.
2) Colouring pages & Crayons. We all know that when traveling with small children, the less you have to pack, the better. Some stores sell small boxes of colouring pages that are not in book form. I like to fill a small sandwich bag of crayons and these pages and this keeps the Princess occupied.
3) Music player. My blackberry used to have playlists of my all time favourite music, but now I have more children’s music than classic rock. Whether iTunes or your music provider, will have a wide range of music to choose from. The Princess loves music and sings and dances away to these songs.
4) Games using the alphabet. Whether you use objects in the vehicle or road signs, you can look for letters of the alphabet everywhere. Make it a game and whoever gets through the entire alphabet first wins!
5) Once upon a Time. Create you own tale by each person taking turns making up sentences of a story. They can be as short or as long as you want, but the goal is to finish the story before you arrive to the destination.

Leave a Reply

