How I Love Cuddles from my Princess

Standard

I am not a big cuddler. It used to irritate my mother when she would try and cuddle with me and would pull away. My mom would rent horror films and we would have all night scream nights watching the classics like Carrie, Halloween or Friday the 13th. Then afterwards she would want my sisters and I to sleep in bed with her. There was one night in particular I was not feeling the big bed cuddle fest. I laid still for an hour until I thought everyone was asleep and then I began to slowly slide out so I could tiptoe into my room. I had one foot on the floor when my mom woke up.
“Where are you going?” She asked.
“To the bathroom,” I groaned, knowing I was busted.
Now that I’m a mom though, I love cuddling with my Princess and she loves cuddling with me. Ever since she was born, she has been a cuddler. Whether its sleeping next to us or on our chests, she loves being close to us. But now that she’s getting older, her cuddling has been reserved for me. Hubby is out of the house often before the sun rises and as soon as I hear him lock the door, I hear the Princess open her bedroom door and her run into my room. She throws herself next to me and wraps her arms around my neck and nuzzles her face against me. I love feeling her nose rub up against my cheek and her little feet strewn across my hips. We lay in my bed until my alarm goes off signaling us to wake up and start our day.
Even on the weekends she cuddles with me. When we watch movies or colour, she needs to be right next to me. And if I am sitting somewhere else, she let’s me know what she wants.
“Mommy, I want to cuddle to you,” she mewls.
“It’s cuddle ‘with’ you and yes I will,” I say.
Often when she wakes up from her nap, she will awake, her face still puffy from sleep, and come and finish the last 30 minutes of her nap on my chest, leaving my heart brimming with love, and a big wet drool stain on my shirt.

One response »

  1. mine are all cuddlers too. it is usually pretty awesome, but mine are also wigglers….so they try to cuddle, but can’t sit still. cuddle time often results in mama getting injured in some way. I have to cry out “too much love, too much love”….LOL. But of course, it’s never too much.

Leave a Reply

