Did the Judge go too Far?

Standard

I was on Yahoo today and saw an article about a 13-year-old girl who lured a 3-year-old at a McDonald’s in Utah and cut her hair.  Now the Judge in the case gave her 30 days in a detention centre and 276 hours of community service.  However, the Judge told the mother that if she cut her daughter’s hair in the courtroom, he would shave off 150 hours.  The mother did it and has now filed a complaint because she felt “intimidated” by him.  She’s also stating that her daughter was strip searched at the detention centre and now cannot sleep by herself and cries often.  The girl’s 11-year-old accomplice also had to have her hair cut, but she was allowed to go to the salon.  The 13-year-old, Kaytlen Lopan, claims that it was the accomplice, not her that cut the hair.  However, Miss Lopan is also in trouble due to some prank related grievances against another girl.

Now when I saw this article a few things came to mind.  Firstly, at 13, I would never have pulled a stunt like this.  Not only is it wrong to wrong a child, but the sheer fear of my parents was enough to keep my on the straight and narrow.   As my parents would so graciously say, “my butt would never see the light of day again.”  By the sounds of this case, this mother has very little control over her daughter’s behaviour as this is the SECOND time she’s been in trouble with the law, but the nerve of Miss Lopan.  Why would you cut a little girls’ hair?  What purpose would that serve?  I highly doubt the 3-year-old attacked and triggered the attack.

Secondly, as a mother, if my Princess ever, ever, everrr, lured a little girl away from her parents and cut her hair, not only would she be grounded until she died, she would have to apologize to this little girl and her parents, I would make her volunteer at a hair salon sweeping her hair, and finally I would shave her head.  Drastic, I know.  But so is cutting a little girl’s hair maliciously.

I have a few choice words for this mother.  I think by her filing this complaint against the judge sets a poor example for her daughter.  The mother agreed to cutting the hair.  Now, if you genuinely thought your daughter was innocent, would you really cut her hair?  People have choices.  She could have said no and made her daughter work the full amount of hours.  But she CHOSE to cut it to get her daughter to work less and now she’s complaining.  And as for the girl saying she was scared, I hope she was scared.  Those detention centres are not meant to be five-star hotels.  They are meant to teach lessons.  Lessons like cutting a little girls hair is not OK.  I think by the mother letting her go lightly is only teaching her daughter that it is ok to do this stuff, because in the end, her mom will try to get her off.  If it were my daughter, her hair would be cut and she would work and serve every minute she was sentenced to.  People make choices.  But there are consequences to those choices.  It’s a life lesson.

2 responses »

    • As much as I’m stunned and disgusted by this girl’s actions, I feel sorry for her too. Clearly her mom hasn’t done a very good job at teaching her right from wrong and cutting her hair to get her out of community service did her daughter more of a disjustice than anything else.

Leave a Reply

