My First 5K Run!

Standard

I ran my first ever 5K race yesterday!  I had gotten it in my head back in March that I was just going to train for a race.  And I did.  I will admit there was a short period when I slacked a little bit but nonetheless, I got back onto the training and completed my first race.  The race was during the Toronto Ribfest for a cause to raise awareness for teen suicide called Cameron Helps.

I had someone very close to me commit suicide and I can tell you it leaves you in a constant state of shock.  It’s been 7 years and there are still times when I stop and ask myself if maybe I had gone to see them more often or told them how much they meant to me or what they had done in their life was tremendous that maybe they wouldn’t have done it.  While the person wasn’t a teen, when I found this run, I knew it had to be my first.  This is a cause that is very close to my heart.  No matter how crappy life gets, no one should feel like their only option is death.

Number 16!

I have never ran a race before this one, let alone gone to watch one.  So I really didn’t know in terms of how to register and where to meet and what you had to bring was all new to me.  I actually got lost getting to the stadium to pick up my race kit.  I finally found it and then once I had put on my racing shirt and number, I began to stretch and mentally prepare myself for it.  I was nervous!  I wanted to do this run without a buddy or anyone I knew, I wanted to say that I did this myself.  Hubby and the Princess arrived about 10 minutes before the race was set to begin and my little one was so excited that I was going to run a race she wanted to run with me.  I gave them kisses and lined up to start.  The best feeling when I started running was seeing and listening to my little girl screaming at the top of her lungs, with her arms raised in the air “Go Mommy Go!  Go Mommy Go!  I started to choke up.

The course was set through Etobicoke’s Centennial Park and while I trained in the early morning and late night, I was not prepared for the 38 degree weather that happened that day.  Thankfully there were plenty of water stations along the route.   When I got to the halfway mark, that was when it hit me that everything I worked for was almost accomplished.  But when I saw that 4K marker, I kept telling myself to push through it, that I was almost there.  Then I saw the Princess running up the side of the course, still screaming “Go Mommy go, Go Mommy go!”  I had the biggest smile on my face and when I ran across that finish line with people giving me high fives, I was elated.  I even beat my time, which made the run even better.  They put the medal around my neck and I hugged my special family.  I did it!  It was one of the best feeling’s I’ve ever had.  I am definitely planning on running more races, but this one is special.  I dedicate this run to that person I lost 7 years ago.  You are still in my heart and thoughts.

Unbreakable!

2 responses »

  1. I am so sorry about your friend. I am so proud of you. You did it and you ran a race that mean so much to you. You are teaching your daughter so much about setting goals,working hard to achieve them, and fighting for causes that matter. Go, Carley!

    • Thank you so much Lydia! I have to say reading your post about your run definitely drove me to get off my keister and run some more. I am very glad that this cause was my first run as it is so close to my heart. The very best part was seeing my Princess cheer me on!

Leave a Reply

