I Hate Games!

Standard

Oh I loathe them, despise them, stomp my feet, temper tantrum throwing hate them.  I don’t mean sports or board games, but the mind games people play.  Grrrr…it irritates me to no end.  I think it may be the reason that people waste time playing these games and they miss saying and feeling and doing what they really want to do, and what’s worse, is that they inflict it on themselves.

I have a few girlfriends who are in the dating world and they have asked me how they should say things on dates or how many days they should wait until they call said person.  My response is pretty straightforward.  Say what you want and what you mean and call them when you want to speak to them.  They have asked me when I met Hubby who said the “L Bomb” first and how did we have the “relationship” talk.  I tell them that I said “love” first and I brought up if we were “official.”  Maybe you haven’t noticed, but I don’t mince words.  I asked them why they had hesitation in speaking to their significant other and their response is usually that they don’t want to scare that person away.  Ummm, really?  My logic, perhaps skewed, is that if that person is scared away by you being honest, then they weren’t for you in the first place.  After listening to them, I realize I am so lucky that I am no longer in the dating world and Hubby is much like me when it comes to giving it straight.

From the time I was 14, I have been to a funeral, if not more than one a year, every year.  In 2011, I had 3 people close to me die within a 6 month period.  I believe that bearing witness to mortality from a young age has shaped my views and mindset but I didn’t allow it to affect me negatively.  Of course I mourned them and grieved their passing, but it didn’t leave me feeling like life is precarious.  I transformed it into the mantra that life is so so so precious and every moment should be valued.   These experiences can be as simple as witnessing the birth of a child, holding the hand of a loved one or a really great laugh.  I have air in my lungs, food in my stomach, a roof over my head, and a great family and for those reasons I am extraordinarily grateful.  I hate games because they literally rob you of what really really matters in life; the things that make you happy and fulfilled.

I have a quote that is so pertinent to my point and is a close favourite of mine.  I don’t know who said it but it’s direct and to the point;

“You only live once.  But if you do it right, once is enough.”

Leave a Reply

