For the Love of Reading

Standard

We’ve been having our share of up’s and down’s with school, but Princess had a great day today.  When I picked her up, I asked her how her day was.  She had the biggest grin on her face and triumphantly told me that she had reading buddies today.  Once a week, a grade 4 student comes to her class and they are paired up and read to the Kindergarten students.  With all the stuff that has been going on, I can’t express how overjoyed I am that she has found something that makes her happy.

Since the Princess was a baby, I have been reading to her.  She has a collection of books and I read to her every night.  Her tastes vary.  Some nights she wants Goosebumps or Harry Potter, Goodnight Moon or Dr. Seuss.  I am an avid reader myself.  The multi-sensory experience of it gives me immense pleasure and I am glad that the Princess is finding joy in it too.  I’m sure that Princess will read books that I think are literary garbage but as long as she is reading than I cannot complain.  My mom always read true crime novels and I prefered the literary classics such as Byron and Shakespeare.  I am varying my tastes a bit and reading books I maybe would not have read before.  I hope that the Princess’ joy of reading continues as the benefits of reading are tremendous and here are just a few of them.

  1. A stronger relationship between the reader and the person being read to.
  2. Academic excellence.
  3. Basic speech skills
  4. The basics of how to read a book.
  5. Better communication skills.
  6. Mastery of language.
  7. More logical thinking skills.
  8. Acclamation to new experiences.
  9. Enhanced concentration and discipline.
  10. That reading is fun and can take you to places and meet people you would not meet in the real world!
9 responses »

  1. I am glad Princess has found a positive and fun thing to look forward to at school. I think reading is one of the most important things you can teach your kid to enjoy. They can carry that joy with them throughout their whole lives.

  2. Besides actual people, I don’t know if I love anything more than I love children’s books. Each one is a friend that has marked my life in some memorable way. Instill a love of reading and learning in your children while they are still small! They will thank you for it.

Leave a Reply

