Quotes about Sisters

Standard

I am going to go visit my sister this weekend.  She is having a baby and we are going shopping for baby clothes.  As I am the more seasoned sister with a child already, I will be the dutiful sister and provide advice on buying clothes for a child you’ve never met.  Really, I think she just doesn’t want to shop alone, but I’ll take it.  I am the oldest and I have 2 younger sisters, one that is 24 and 1 that is 19.  We’ve yelled, we’ve cried, we’ve laughed and we’ve beat the crap out of each other.  We’re sisters and I wouldn’t change a thing.

Having a sister is like having a best friend you can’t get rid of.  You know
whatever you do, they’ll still be there.  ~Amy Li

A sister  is a little bit of childhood that can never be lost.  ~Marion C. Garretty

Is solace anywhere more comforting than in the
arms of a sister.  ~Alice Walker

Big sisters are the crab grass in the lawn of life.  ~Charles M. Schulz

If you don’t
understand how a woman could both love her sister dearly and want to wring her
neck at the same time, then you were probably an only child.  ~Linda Sunshine

You can kid the world.  But not your sister.
~Charlotte Gray

I would like more sisters, that the taking
out of one, might not leave such stillness.  ~Emily
Dickinson

Help one another, is part of the religion of
sisterhood.  ~Louisa May Alcott

Sisters never quite forgive
each other for what happened when they were five.  ~Pam
Brown

In thee my soul shall own combined the sister and the
friend.  ~Catherine Killigrew

A sister can
be seen as someone who is both ourselves and very much not ourselves – a special
kind of double.  ~Toni Morrison

Children of the same
family, the same blood, with the same first associations and habits, have some
means of enjoyment in their power, which no subsequent connections can
supply…  ~Jane Austen, Mansfield Park,
1814

What’s the good of news if you haven’t a sister to
share it?  ~Jenny DeVries

Sisters is probably the most
competitive relationship within the family, but once the sisters are grown, it
becomes the strongest relationship.  ~Margaret Mead

Bless you, my darling, and remember you are always in the heart – oh tucked so close
there is no chance of escape – of your sister.  ~Katherine Mansfield

A sister smiles when one tells one’s stories – for she knows where the decoration has
been added.  ~Chris Montaigne

More than Santa Claus, your
sister knows when you’ve been bad and good.  ~Linda
Sunshine

If sisters were free to express how they really
feel, parents would hear this:  “Give me all the attention and all the toys and
send Rebecca to live with Grandma.”  ~Linda Sunshine

My sister taught me everything I really need to know, and she was only in sixth
grade at the time.  ~Linda Sunshine

I, who have no sisters
or brothers, look with some degree of innocent envy on those who may be said to
be born to friends.  ~James Boswell

How do people make it
through life without a sister?  ~Sara Corpening

If your sister is in a tearing hurry to go out and cannot catch your eye, she’s wearing
your best sweater.  ~Pam Brown

Sisters are different
flowers from the same garden.  ~Author Unknown

There can be no
situation in life in which the conversation of my dear sister will not
administer some comfort to me.  ~Mary Montagu

I know my older sister loves me because she gives me all her old clothes and has to go out
and buy new ones.  ~Author unknown, attributed to a 4-year-old named
Lauren

In the cookies of life, sisters are the chocolate chips.
~Author Unknown

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

