Harvest Soup

Standard

I had the day off today from work and the Princess’ class was making Harvest Soup and was short on volunteers.  I don’t get many days off from work so I was glad to be able to help out.  I wasn’t quite sure what to expect as it’s been a while since I’ve been in kindergarten and Princess is my first child.  I walked in to see the entire class sitting on the floor listening to the teacher.   Everything seemed quiet and peaceful.  That didn’t last.  Myself, another Mother, the Teacher and the Early Childhood Educator were each assigned 6 children.  Chaos ensued.  I asked the children that were in my group to each go pick a vegetable of their choice.  It was not long before I had a majority of the vegetables on the very small table.  We were given a bowl of water to wash the veggies.  Within moments, water and vegetables were being thrown everywhere and being eaten.  I tried to cut the vegetables while minding the knife.  Never have I been so nervous in my life.  I kept reminding them that knives were sharp and because I was the grown up that I would do the cutting and then they could take the cut veggies and put them into the crock pot.

Soon the kids attention spans had flown out the window and the clean up began.  I have a new respect for kindergarten teachers.  The volume of the classroom was outrageous and they must go home with a headache everyday.  Meltdowns were in full swing, fights over play stations and there were kids going to the bathroom with the door wide open.  There is only one word to describe what I saw and that is INSANITY!  The teacher admitted to the other mother and I that they are not liking the full day kindergarten.  She admitted that instead of teaching, it feels more like crowd control.  I have to say that it was interesting to watch the Princess interact in a school setting.  She really enjoyed the science centre and preferred to play alone as opposed with others.  While I was shocked by it all, I hope that I am able to help out more often because I do want to play an active role in the Princess’ education and school.

4 responses »

  1. Wow – I think that teacher needs to adopt the “Give me 5 Please” philosophy that Angel Girls’ teacher does. It refers to the 5 senses: eyes on me, listening ears, mouths closed. hands in lap….I’m not exactly sure how the nose fits in – LOL – but it does work. Anybody not givin 5 loses their outdoor time. Zero tolerance policy. Since they all love the playground – works like a charm.

Leave a Reply

