6 Years!

Standard

6 years ago, Hubby and I first started dating.  We had met on April Fool’s Day earlier in the year but hadn’t spoken again until his birthday.  We had met at a University party and a mutual friend had introduced us.  Now not to sound cliché and cheesy, but when I saw him, my heart literally did race like it had never raced before.  I knew that he was going to be mine. Hubby isn’t much of a talker, like at all, but over the course of the night, he went from sitting on the other side of the room and slowly made his way to me over the span of a couple of hours.  We hung out the remainder of the weekend and then it was time for him to go back home.  We never did exchange numbers and I ended up spending the rest of the summer thinking I had blown it.

Come October, that mutual friend and I were living in a town house going to school and it was Hubby’s birthday.  She had woken up early and came to my room and woke me up.

“It’s his birthday, wish him a happy birthday,” she said as she handed me the phone.  I took it and left my birthday message.

Within three days I had received a text thanking me for my message and that he thought about me all summer too.  We spoke everyday all day and he came up a month later.   We had gone out and then came back to my place.  Everyone else had gone to bed and we sat there talking.  I decided that it was time to ask.  Now I’ve never been one to beat around the bushes and this wasn’t about to be another one of those times.

“So what are we?” I asked bluntly.

“You’re my girlfriend and I’m your boyfriend,” he said matter-of-factly.  Thank goodness he is as blunt as I am. The rest is history.

So it has been 6 years from that short but to the point conversation and I’ve never been happier.  People always say that there is someone for everyone and thankfully I found mine.  While we have a lot of differences, we also have a lot in common and both have a determination to stick it out, thick or thin.  We’ve had some happy times, some sad times, bad times and good, but no matter what, we always come out on the other side together.  I couldn’t have asked for a better man!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

