2 Pregnancies, 2 Very Different Experiences.

Standard

Today I went for some genetic testing to ensure that everything with my Rainbow is going well.  At first I was very nervous because the technician wouldn’t show me the screen.  She then told me that my “baby is not cooperating.”  Noooo that couldn’t possibly be a trait that my children have.  *Cue awkward silence*  Needless to say that whenever she tried to measure the nasal bone, the baby would either hide it’s face or roll over.  Once everything was measured, she let me look at the screen.  There I saw the flicker of the heartbeat, and this squirmy little joy using my womb as a romper room.

After I left the clinic, I began to compare the differences between this pregnancy and my pregnancy with the Princess.  They are entirely different in almost all aspects thus far.

 

PREGNANCY WITH THE PRINCESS

  • We don’t like to say “accident” but the Princess was an “unexpected surprise.”
  • Symptoms occurred almost instantly
  • Little nausea but vomited for 7 months
  • Heartburn and swollen feet were the only other symptoms
  • Gained a whopping 40 lbs
  • Felt like it was a boy, but a girl it was
  • Delivered the Princess via emergency c-section

 

PREGNANCY WITH THIS RAINBOW

  • Planned after 2 1/2 years of trying, 2 miscarriages and secondary infertility
  • Little vomiting but extreme nausea to the point where food repulses me
  • Tender chest, heartburn, blotchy dry skin, bleeding gums, bloody noses every morning, a round ligament tear, pregnancy insomnia and fatigue
  • I have lost 10 lbs thus far
  • People keep telling me it’s a boy, but I feel like it will be another girl
  • I will be attempting a VBAC
Baby Rainbow at 13 weeks

Baby Rainbow at 13 weeks

Princess us

Baby Princess at 20 weeks

7 responses »

  1. OMG. How did I miss this? Congrats. I’m sooooooo happy for you and hope everything goes well!!! Looking at your symptoms for #2 could be me when I was pregnant with my boy! I had most of the same symptoms…

    • Thank you very much! We’re very happy. My sister had similar symptoms like #2 as well and she’s having a boy. I will find out in about 7 weeks if it’s a boy or girl and then I’ll know for sure. I’ll be happy with either.

  2. All 3 of mine were different too. The only thing they had in common was that I was not prone to sickness/vomiting at all. I got lucky there. And I always lost weight at the beginning – but didn’t gain more than 22 pounds on any of them. But that was due to my strict diet as a result of the gestational diabetes I had with the last two.
    The worst was the heartburn I had with the first two. horrible.
    Glad to hear everything is going well

    • I’ve heard that each pregnancy is different, but the way I feel is so different from this one to the first one. With the Princess, I wasn’t tired, just puked and had vicious heartburn. This one, I’m yawning, sneezing, headachy and just plain exhausted all day. I’ve been taking a lot of naps haha.

  3. Hooray! I love how you call her/him your rainbow baby. I saw this tonight and was like “whoa, I must have missed something.” I scrolled through your previous posts, seen it, seen it, read it, read it, and then there it was on Dec 4th (I knew I would miss important things when I decided to take a little break from blogging.) So happy for you guys!

  4. This is the right blog for anybody who hopes to understand this topic.

    You understand so much its almost tough to argue with you (not
    that I actually will need to…HaHa). You certainly put a brand new spin on a topic that has been written about for ages.
    Great stuff, just excellent!

Leave a Reply

