Recycled Heart Crayons

Standard

175Pinterest has me hooked.  Just in time for Valentine’s Day, I have made some recycled heart-shaped crayons.  The Princess had a huge freezer bag of old crayons plus an entire box.  Upon doing a purge of old toys, I finally decided that it was time to get her craft box cleaned up.  I had seen a post on Pinterest about recycling crayons but had heard horror stories of over baking them and turning out badly.  Here is a method that I used to create perfect recycled crayons.

 

 

 

SUPPLIES

  • Silicone cupcake pan
  • Assorted crayons, peeled and broken into small pieces
  • Aluminum cans
  • Saucepan
  • Water

DIRECTIONS

  1. Collect all your old crayons and peel them and sort them by colour.  Note that the peeling took me over an hour, so patience is needed.  Please be aware that soy based crayons don’t melt well, so it’s best to use wax based crayons.  I used old crayola crayons.  Break the crayons into smaller pieces.
  2. Take pop cans, wash them out and remove the tab.  Using a can opener, carefully cut the top off.  I tried using old beer cans, but they wouldn’t cut, so pop cans are the best.  Tin soup cans also work well.  Be careful of sharp edges.
  3. On medium heat, heat a few inches of water in a saucepan and place pop cans with the bottom filled with crayon pieces.  You don’t need a lot of water, because if you have too much, the cans will float and may tip over, spilling the wax into the pan.  Just enough to heat the bottom of the cans.
  4. Watch the cans and swirl them to ensure that all pieces are melted.
  5. Using oven mitts, pour the melted wax into the silicone pan.
  6. Once the pan is full, let set for 10 minutes.  Then if you put the pan in the freezer for 10 minutes, by the time you take them out, they will be completely hard and easy to remove.  I found if I didn’t let them set for those 10 minutes prior, the outsides were set but the insides were still hot and broke and crumbled upon removing them from the silicone pan.
  7. Repeat until all wax is used up.
  8. Enjoy!

*Side note, the silicone pan cannot be used for food after using them for these crayons.  I paid $10 for this pan from Bulk Barn*

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

2 responses »

  1. Those look adorable 🙂

    I’ve seen that on Pinterest and I always wondered if it would really work. You always hear of people trying something “simple” that they saw on Pinterest and it turning into a disaster.

    • I saw the Pinterest Craft Fails and from what I read, baking them as opposed to melting them caused some craft disasters. I know some people who’ve had them turn out by baking them, but I’m all thumbs so melting was the best option for me. The Princess uses them more as toys than for crayons though.

Leave a Reply

