Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Sandwiches

Standard

I have been meal planning like a madwoman and I’ve been trying my very best to stay within our grocery budget while sampling new meal ideas.  I attempted Pulled Pork today and it was Hubby approved and I thought I would give you the recipe.  Easy to make, not time-consuming, delicious and budget friendly.

 

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 lbs Pork Roast
  • 3 Onions, 2 sliced and 1 chopped
  • 1 16 oz BBQ Sauce
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Brown Sugar & Paprika
  • Water
  • 3/4 cup Apple Juice, divided

 

DIRECTIONS

  1. Slice 1 onion and spread on the bottom of the slow cooker.
  2. Rub the Pork Roast with salt, pepper, brown sugar and a little bit of paprika
  3. Place on top of the bed of onions and top with 1 sliced onion.
  4. Add 1/2 cup of Apple Juice.
  5. Fill the slow cooker with water until it is 2/3 the way full.
  6. Cook on low for 8-12 hours on low or 4-6 on high.
  7. Once the time is up, strain the slow cooker and remove the water, onions, fat and roast.
  8. Shred the pork with forks.
  9. Dice 1 onion and add the roast, onions, BBQ Sauce and 1/4 cup of Apple Juice to the slow cooker.
  10. Cook on high for 1 hour.
  11. Serve on crusty buns and enjoy!

 

2 responses »

    • I hope you like it as much as we did. I was nervous attempting Pulled Pork for the first time but I really enjoyed it and so did Hubby. He’s pretty vocal about food he dislikes but he said he would definitely have me make this again.

Leave a Reply

