All Those Vivid Dreams

Standard

Everyone says that you get less Zz’s while pregnant but the dreams you do have are much more vivid when pregnant.  Many believe that the additional hormones are to blame for the heavier dream load and the constant tossing and turning makes you interrupt the REM cycle therefore remembering more dreams in sometimes more vivid details.  I have been having my fair share of bizarre dreams and here are just a few.

  1. Very early on I had a dream that I gave birth early to a baby boy (psychic maybe?) and he was deformed but my Dad was cuddling him nonetheless.  Apparently these dreams represent an anxiety about the babies health.  It is likely since early on we were worried we would lose it, my subconscious was going into worry overdrive.
  2. This one was truly weird but I dreamt that Hubby and I were camping on a beach and the entire campsite was being attacked by Bigfoot.  We tried to trap it with a dummy made out of carrot (???) but it ended up just throwing carrot sticks at us.  Then somehow the Bigfoot pushed a woman into the water where she was circled by sharks.  Dream decipherers believe that dreams of being attacked by animals, albeit fictitious animals, represents a fear of vulnerability.  Or I ate too many Tums before bed.
  3. Lately I’ve been dreaming about loved ones that have passed on.  My Nan, Grandparents, Aunts and Uncles, and last night dreamt of my family dog I had as a kid, have been a mainstay in my dreams.  Some may not believe this, but I like to believe that people we love will visit us in our dreams to let us know things will be ok.  However, dreams of relatives who have passed away may be the subconscious’ way of connecting the old and new generations.  But it usually leaves me reaching for tissues when I wake up.  Hormones and sad memories equal a whole box of Kleenex used and in the trash.
  4. I have also had very vivid dreams about certain people in popular culture.   I had a dream I was on tour with the Jonas Brother’s, whose music I have never listened to and then the other night I had a very realistic dream about Snooki.  Somehow the cast of Jersey Shore (a show I don’t watch) and I were visiting my sister who was building a house.  I then turned to Snooki and said “It is a sad thing that future generations will look back and realize you would be considered an influential person during that time.”  It’s even more sad when you wake up and realize that is true.

What crazy dreams did you have when you were expecting?

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

