Another First

Standard

I woke up with a gray hair right on the top of my head.  I’m only 27 and thought to myself “I’m too young for this.”  But after this first, I know why.  The Princess was invited to a birthday party today and like all the other parties, parents are welcome to stay.  Not this one.  I was not at all prepared for it.  In all the correspondence I had with the Mom, not once did she mention that parents were not to stay.  So when the Princess and I arrived, she took the Princess’ jacket and informed me pick up time was at 3:30.  I must have had a bizarre look on my face. I choked a little bit and then went and said my goodbye’s to the Princess and informed her I would be back later.  I walked outside and immediately called Hubby.

“They won’t let me stay.  I don’t feel right about this.  She’s only 4,” I stammered, holding back the tears.

He agreed that it was a little weird but said she’d probably be ok.

So like a crazy woman, I went to the coffee shop across the street and watched through the window.  I constantly watched my clock and then made periodical walk-by’s.  In my opinion, 4 years old is not old enough to be left alone.  I’m sure I looked crazy but it’s my job to keep her safe.

At 3:15, I picked her up early and she was just fine.  So despite walking up and down the street, holding back the tears, the Princess survived her first birthday party without me.

10 responses »

  1. Oh my goodness…I couldn’t get back to the car fast enough the first time this happened to me!! LOL but granted, I think my eldest was at least 5 years old. and it was a boys party so I was relieved to have a break from all the noise and Pokemon and Lego play.
    It was a bit harder the first time I left my daughter. I might have only slowly jogged back to the car 🙂

  2. You are doing pretty well to have made it until she was 4! The day after my first was born, I slowly made it across the hospital room to the sink. There, in the mirror, I saw a lone gray hair right up front in the middle. Ack!

Leave a Reply

