Baby Boy is Almost Here!

Standard

So it looks as though our Rainbow will be finally making his appearance soon.  Originally we had intended to deliver him via VBAC however life doesn’t always go the way you plan.  At 37 weeks, my doctor ordered an additional ultrasound as I was measuring 2 weeks ahead of schedule and he wanted to ensure that the baby was in the correct position and determine his weight.  Well, boy oh boy, he is big!

At 37 weeks gestation, our Rainbow was estimated to weigh 9 lbs. already and was in the 90th percentile for babies of his gestational age.  My doctor has been very supportive in our decision to attempt a VBAC, but after the last 2 check ups, things have changed.  Turns out that our Rainbow is so big that he is unable to drop into my pelvis thus not engaging and triggering labour.  Our doctor said that if we truly wanted to do a VBAC, he would let us go to 41 weeks, but he warned me that it would likely be a long, hard and complicated birth that may end up in a C-Section anyways.  He also said that since our boy hadn’t dropped yet, it wasn’t exactly a good indication of things to come.  So after much deliberation, we have booked a C-Section for next week.

I was hopeful that we would get to have a natural birth, but I also do not want any complications causing undue harm to myself or our baby boy.  We have been through so much just to conceive him that putting myself and him in a situation that could cause complications, uterine rupture or him getting stuck and then having to make emergency decisions in the throe of things seems unnecessary and not in our best interests.  I’m not overly ecstatic about the idea of a C-Section, but with all things considering, it’s the very best option.  Thankfully Hubby will be taking 2 weeks off of work to stay home and help me with our Rainbow and Princess as well as letting me recover.   Also, by mere coincidence, Rainbow will be born on his due date.  Now how often does that happen?

4 responses »

  1. Same story when I was pregnant with Angel Girl. I had wanted to try VBAC too, but she also was weighing in at 9 pounds at the last ultrasound. Since Monkey Boy was over 10 pounds and via C section ….. there was no way they were going to let me try natural birth. I found the 2nd C section much harder recovery, but I also had a cold at the time that didn’t help matters. But chasing a toddler, and caring for a new baby while you are healing was definitely challenging. Thank goodness you’ll have hubby for a few weeks.

    • I’ve heard that the recovery is harder but also less stressful because you aren’t as exhausted from labour. I’m hoping that with Hubby being home that I’ll be able to get some rest before I’m home all summer with Rainbow and my Princess, since she hates sleeping in and napping, and sitting still LOL

Leave a Reply

