Best Laid Plans

Standard

“The best laid plans of mice and men often go astray.” – Robert Burns

 

Turns out that this will be the Rainbow’s mantra from here on out.  As of last Thursday, we had gone forward and booked a C-section for this upcoming week, but low and behold, the Rainbow had plans of his own.  I don’t know if he thought me saying “It’s time to get this over with” were mere idle threats, but maybe after booking the c-section, he realized I meant business.  Early on the weekend, I went into natural labour.  Hubby and I found care for the Princess and made our way into the hospital.  We were checked and monitored but as we were only in the early stages, we were sent home to ride out the contractions until they were 5 minutes apart.  So we got back home and waddled until the pain was just to much for me.  We tried the bathtub and eventually I just laid in bed and laboured until we hit the 5 minute mark.   I originally wanted a VBAC and since I went into labour naturally the on-call doctor agreed to let me trial labour.

It was loooonnggg.  After 32 hours and lots and lots of drugs, I finally made it to 10 cm and got to push.  It was not easy.  For some odd reason, this labour made me vomit every time I moved so having to make myself hunch over my belly only made this worse, not to mention apparently me and epidurals don’t mix since I still felt some.  However, after 20 minutes, Rainbow’s heartbeat began to give out and the doctor informed us that he wouldn’t last if we continued.  Up until that point, he had tolerated the labour well, and while I vomited, had my blood pressure drop, and had tachycardia, I had managed quite well too.  But within 5 minutes, we were being wheeled into the OR.  And to be honest, thank god.  As I had mentioned in a previous post, Uterine Rupture can happen with VBAC’s and when the doctor cut me open, it turns out I was well on my way to one.  After 32 hours of labour, my uterus had thinned out so much that the doctor merely touched it with his finger and it tore.  Also, because Rainbow was so big, a bit of damage was done to my bladder causing a lot of blood to fill my insides.   Needless to say, if I had continued on with natural labour, both him and I may not be here today.  The C-section was longer than usual to repair all the damage, but both Rainbow and I are doing much better and are being very well taken care of.

Born only 4 minutes after Father’s Day, we welcomed our 8 lbs 8 oz little boy into this world.  Hubby, Princess and myself couldn’t be happier.  He is a wonderful eater, great sleeper and all around cute!  Him and I have spent many hours cuddling and at the hospital where we delivered him, they have a service where they provide professional photos on the day of their birth.  The shoots themselves and the discs are all provided the day of so there is no waiting.  Hubby and I had no intention of getting professional photos done this early, but hey, who can beat same day service?

_MG_0059c

8 responses »

  1. YAY!!!!!! All’s well that ends well. happy to hear that everything turned out well and can’t wait to meet the new little (well sorta little – ha) guy. Congrats to all of you!

Leave a Reply

