5 Best Things After Giving Birth

Standard

Giving birth can make you exhausted so it’s not surprising that women sigh with relief after it’s all over.  Here are my top 5 favourite things after giving birth.

  1. The Baby.  Obviously, this is number 1.  Seeing the face of your little one and counting all the toes and fingers and giving kisses.  Seeing my children’s faces for the first time was simply unforgettable.
  2. Showering.  OMG!  This is easily my second favourite.  I cannot tell you how good it felt to finally have a shower.  You feel so sticky and sweaty and to have that hot water wash it all away is just spectacular.  After 32 hours labour and a C-section with the Rainbow, it was almost 3 days before I could shower.  I was afraid that after my shower he wouldn’t be able to recognize me.  “You’re not my mom.  My mom smells like sweat, blood and local anaesthetic.”
  3. Eating.  With epidurals and chances of caesarean, more often than not, the only thing you can eat while in labour is ice chips and we all know how filling they are.  After my C-section, I made hubby to a food run.  It had been 2 days of no food and I was HUNGRY!  And let’s be honest, hospital food isn’t that great.
  4. Laying on your Back.  I’m a back sleeper.  I have my pillow under my neck and one under my knees and I have to say sleeping on my side was one of my least favourite things about being pregnant.  Too bad now I barely sleep because I have an infant who has his days and nights mixed up.
  5. Sleeping in your own bed.  I was so happy to finally get home and crash into my bed.  After soaking my hospital beds with amniotic fluid, blood and sweat, I just wanted my nice clean sheets, with my nice fluffy pillows in a room that didn’t smell like a sterile hospital.
4 responses »

  1. First of all, congrats. I’ve been so busy I didn’t realize your second bundle had joined you!!! I agree with all of your points… I was famished after all three of my kids’ births and all I wanted was food and oj. 🙂

    • As soon as I was out of surgery I asked for something to drink. I was parched. They told me to only eat toast in the morning, but I had Hubby run off to McDonalds for a breakfast sandwich. I hadn’t eaten anything in 2 days and toast was not going to satisfy me at that point.

  2. Agree on all counts. Especially the eating and back sleeping. Since I was diabetic with 2 pregnancies – I was on very strict diets. I also sent hubby on a food run – and it wasn’t a healthy one either! And I also sleep on my back too, so it was great to be able to just lie flat as soon as I could; and as for as long as the new baby would let me.
    I did get a shower pretty soon though. I don’t know what kind of nurses I had, but my C section was at noon – and after dinner that night I walked down to take a shower. With some assistance from hubby of course. I doubt it was the kind of “shared shower” he’d been hoping for though!! HA

    • I had to wait over 24 hours for my shower because I had to wait for the bandaging to be removed but as soon as they let me get out of bed, I was in the bathroom trying to clean some of the sweat off of myself. We had our room at a cool temperature but for some odd reason I felt like I was boiling. I’m sure I drove my nurses insane. I wanted to be up and moving as soon as possible. That’s probably why I was released a day later.

Leave a Reply

