Frugal Friday – Save Money on Diapers

Standard

I’m always keeping an eye out for ways to save money now that I’m on maternity leave.  I wrote a post on saving money when buying baby stuff and in this post I will be dealing directly with diapers.  Since our Rainbow has come home, he has surprised and impressed us with his ability to fill copious amounts of diapers.  Hubby and I stocked up on diapers when we could prior to his birth but we have already had to do a few diaper runs.  Being a big boy, he outgrew the newborn size within a first few days leaving us with 2 packs we never even opened.  So here are a few ways to save money on diapers and it doesn’t involve changing them less.

  • Store Brands.  Some people swear buy them or curse them, but store brands are generally less expensive and do go on sale periodically like brand name diapers.
  • Coupons.  I am a fan of these and I have a few selected sites that sends me high value coupons to my favourite brands.
  • Reward Programs.  Pampers and Huggies both offer rewards programs and will occasionally send you free samples in the mail.
  • In Store Promotions.  Right now, Shopper’s  Drugmart has a promotion going on with diapers where there is a $4 off coupon attached to each diaper product.  They also have a Optimum Points and V.I.B. program and for simply signing up, I received 2 full packs of diapers as well as high value optimum point coupons.

I didn’t include cloth diapers as I don’t use them and I’m not fully aware of the cost effectiveness on them.  I have friends who swear by them however, so I’d welcome any input on cloth 🙂

Leave a Reply

