This Is Scarlett & Isaiah

Standard

For any of you who have children and watch Treehouse Television, you know who Daniel Cook and Emily Yeung are.  You have heard them shout “We Are Here” and wear the bright orange shirts while learning about something new.  In the latest installment, Treehouse Television, Sinking Ship Entertainment and Marble Media present “This is Scarlett & Isaiah.”  I was graciously invited for a sneak peek into this live-action pre-school show and to speak with its newest hosts.

daniel cookThe “This is” series started in 2004 with Daniel Cook, a 6-year-old who welcomed people to view the world through the eyes of a child.  He met with dog trainers, firefighters and musicians, learning and exploring in a way that only a child can.  Quickly “This Is Daniel Cook” became very popular and winning awards such as 3 Alliance for Children & Television Awards, Prix Jeunesse International Web Prize as well as many Gemini Award nominations.  During the Q & A in the atrium at the launch event, Cook said that out of all the episodes he had no favourite, however his least favourite was undoubtedly the ballet episode.  It was then that young Isaiah exclaimed “Boys do ballet too Daniel!” The producers said that when Cook auditioned it was his intelligence that caught their eye.  He spoke at length about dinosaurs and how he preferred the Decepticons to the Autobots.  this-is-emily-yeung

Next followed “This Is Emily Yeung“, a “fearless” little girl who gave a female perspective to the show.  In her audition, she told producers that she had dared her friend to cut a hole in his pants and it was that fearlessness that won her the spot on the show.  Now 14, the episode where she swam with the sharks and parrot fish pointed her in the direction of her future career as a marine biologist.  Fearless.

I have watched numerous episodes of “This Is Daniel Cook” and “This Is Emily Yeung” with my daughter and it was shocking to find out that they are now teenagers.  Almost as if “Hey, I watched you yesterday, and you were 6!”

Starting September 21st, we will now get the pleasure of watching Scarlett & Isaiah leave their distinct mark on the “This Is” series.  Scarlett is an Oakville native who has been in the business since she was 3.  This little girl is going to melt your hearts.  With her bright red hair and unique tutu, her girly girl attitude will have you breaking out the tiara making kits.  When I spoke to her, she was very involved in making t-shirt art.  I didn’t want to keep her too long as she was thoroughly enjoying herself, but here is a little insight into one of the latest hosts.

Me: Hi Scarlett, my name is Carley.  Can I talk to you for a little bit?

Scarlett: Yes.

Me: Do you like being on television?

Scarlett: Yea.

Me: What was your favourite part of the show?

Scarlett: When we made the tiaras.

Me: Why do you like tiaras?

Scarlett: I like Princess’ a lot and they wear them.

Me: Who is your favourite Princess?

Scarlett: All of them.

Me: Is there any one in particular? Jasmine? Belle?

Scarlett: Ariel.

Me: Why do you like Ariel? Is it because she has red hair like you?

Scarlett: No because she can transform into a mermaid.

Me: Is that your favourite Disney movie?

Scarlett: Yes.  And my second favourite movie is Rapunzel.

Me: I love Rapunzel. What grade are you going into?

Scarlett: Two.

Me: Do you like going to school?

Scarlett: Yes, especially going on field trips.

Me: What was your favourite field trip?

Scarlett: Going to the gardens.

Me: That sounds nice.  Well thank you very much for speaking with me. I cannot wait to see your show, I have a little girl who loves these shows.  Thank you very much.

Scarlett Spaghetti

I was then able to speak with Isaiah.  Isaiah is from Montreal and is a vivacious young man.  His future plan is to become an astronaut and he really enjoys dinosaurs.  His energy ignites the entire room and he is able to make everyone laugh.  He wasn’t shy when speaking with me, in fact he was very enthusiastic, I can only imagine what his episodes will be like.  He was finishing up with Jungle Jack when I was able to snag him for a few questions.

Me: Hi Isaiah.  My name is Carley and I’m going to ask you a few questions, is that ok?

Isaiah: Ok.

Me: What do you like about being on this television show?

Isaiah: I like everything about it.  Especially that I am going to be on TV.

Me: Why do you want to be on television?

Isaiah: Because I wanted to see myself there where all the other people are.  They are all on TV and what am I doing? Sitting at home watching them.  Now I’m going to be on TV.

Me: And then all the little kids can watch you.

Isaiah: Yup. All me! *Laughs*

Me: What is your favourite dinosaur?

Isaiah: Hmm, that will have to be the T-Rex.

Me: Why do you like the T-Rex?

Isaiah: Because it’s the best dinosaur in the world!

Me: Do you like going to school?

Isaiah: No.

Me: Why not?

Isaiah: It’s too hard.  I’m good at it, I just don’t like homework.

Me: Nobody likes homework.

Isaiah: My friend Emma loves school, she loves homework. I’m like how do you love that? Like all my friends, every single one of my friends, including, well Wyatt doesn’t say that but every other one of my friends say homework sucks. And then Emma is like “Yay I love homework!”

Me: Do you not have a favourite class like gym or science?

Isaiah: Gym is my favourite.

Me: Do you like science because you get to learn about being an astronaut?

Isaiah: Yea.

Me: Why do you want to be an astronaut?

Isaiah: Because I want to see what’s inside a black hole.

Me: Ooh that’s a good one.

Isaiah: But I don’t want to go in one, but look outside of it looking in.

Me: What is your favourite episode from the show?

Isaiah: That’s hard, there were so many.  The balloon making is definitely in the top 5.

Me: Is it because you got to wear the balloon dinosaur costume?

Isaiah: Yes.

Me: Thank you very much for talking to me Isaiah.  I can’t wait to see your show. *He gives me a high-five*  Thank you.

Isaiah: Don’t leave me hanging.

Me: I won’t.

Isiah Trex

I had a wonderful time at this event.  There was balloon making, a bubble show and lots of arts for children of all ages, all perfect for this type of show. After speaking with Scarlett & Isaiah, I understand why they were picked as the hosts.  Both bring their own distinct personality to their segments, providing an insiders look into a child’s world and all the wonder and excitement that comes with it.  Premiering Saturday, September 21st at 7 pm, ‘This Is Scarlett & Isaiah’ can be seen on Treehouse television.

 

 

 

 

2 responses »

  1. Great post about a wonderful event and two amazing kids! I was the one who performed the Bubble Wonders show during the Launch. The producers flew me out to Toronto last fall to shoot an episode with Isaiah all about bubbles. I can’t wait to see that episode when it airs!

Leave a Reply

